Suriname, Georgia establish diplomatic relations

PARAMARIBO/NEW YORK–Suriname on May 28th signed a joint protocol with Georgia, on the establishment of diplomatic and consular relations. According to the protocol, the relations between the two states will be guided by the principles of national sovereignty, respect of territorial integrity and inviolability of frontiers of sovereign states.

The protocol was signed by Permanent Representative of the Republic of Suriname to the UN Mr. Henry Leonard MacDonald and by Alexander Lomaia, Permanent Representative of Georgia to the UN. The protocol signing ceremony was held in New York, at Georgia’s Permanent Mission to the UN.

According to the established practice, the sides have since notified H. E. Ban Ki-Moon, UN Secretary General, by a joint letter.

In 2011 Georgia has established diplomatic relations with 12 countries, particularly with Antigua and Barbuda, the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of the Congo, the Commonwealth of The Bahamas, Republic of Honduras, Republic of Mauritius, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of Somalia, Solomon Islands, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, and Tuvalu.

Georgia has established diplomatic relations with 157 out of 191 Member States of the United Nations.

Tags: ,